1000+ of essay services at EssayDirectory.com Welcome, Guest 38.107.179.240
Essay Scam ForumEssayScam.org
Username:  Password Sign up to post!

Please log in or sign up to post.
Forum / Essay Writing Services /  

TheWritingAssistant.com???


collegekid2009   Nov 22, 09, 07:08PM | #1
Joined: Nov 22, 09
Threads: 1
Posts: 3

I came across this site and wanted to know if anyone had any information on whether this site is legitimate or not. I need about 6 papers written and do not want to spend a fortune or lose my money on a scam. If anyone knows of a legitimate service could you please refer me to them. My wiriting is all about Information Technology. Plz Help! Thx..
pheelyks Writer   Nov 22, 09, 07:16PM | #2
Joined: Jan 20, 09
Threads: 8
Posts: 3,429

"tailored fit to your needs"
"no student database for plagiarism check"
"We strongly advise students not to avail writing services from companies "
Not terrible, but it reads like ESL to me. I wouldn't send them any money if I were in your shoes.
collegekid2009 Edited by: collegekid2009   Nov 22, 09, 07:24PM | #3
Joined: Nov 22, 09
Threads: 1
Posts: 3

That was my thought immediately but I still thought to give this forum a try because I could have been reading too much into it. Is there anywhere on this forum that one could recommend a good writing site or at least PM me information?
WritersBeware Edited by: WritersBeware   Nov 22, 09, 07:44PM | #4
Joined: Apr 19, 07
Threads: 144
Posts: 8,389

thewritingassistant.com = deceptive site from the Philippines

Location: Quezon City, Metro Manila, Philippines

http://quezoncity.olx.com.ph/thesis-help-we-offer-affordable-writing-editin g-services-iid-10219708


More proof:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=thewritingassistant.com+Phili ppines&btnG=Search
collegekid2009   Nov 22, 09, 09:36PM | #5
Joined: Nov 22, 09
Threads: 1
Posts: 3

Thank you so much. Guess I should just get on the ball and write these papers myself. It is such a headache though.
AsianWriter   Nov 23, 09, 04:47AM | #6
Joined: Sep 28, 09
Posts: 202

WritersBeware:
thewritingassistant.com = deceptive site from the Philippines


Deception? I don't think they stated that they were from the US or UK. They also mentioned that their writers were from all over the world. I guess the only thing they didn't mention was who owned the site. As for "deliberately" trying to deceive others, I don't see it.

Now, the price they offer is another matter altogether! It's just too low! They won't get any decent writers for that price. Which probably means that they won't turn in "quality" papers.

@collegekid2009: pheelyks is right. You shouldn't pay any money until you see the end result.
WritersBeware Edited by: WritersBeware   Nov 23, 09, 01:05PM | #7
Joined: Apr 19, 07
Threads: 144
Posts: 8,389

AsianWriter:
Deception? I don't think they stated that they were from the US or UK. They also mentioned that their writers were from all over the world. I guess the only thing they didn't mention was who owned the site. As for "deliberately" trying to deceive others, I don't see it.

They should have registered thewritingassistant.ph.

They cater to primarily American consumers without acknowledging the ESL nature of the site and its writers.

They promote themselves primarily in US search engines without acknowledging their location in the Philippines.

Bullsh*t: "The writers at The Writing Assistant are all college educated and hold a PhD in their respective fields."

For the rates they charge, there is no way in hell they they employ American writers, let alone American writers with PhD degrees.
AsianWriter Edited by: AsianWriter   Nov 24, 09, 06:24AM | #8
Joined: Sep 28, 09
Posts: 202

WritersBeware:
They should have registered thewritingassistant.ph.


Nah! Not really. I have a (dot)com site (not related to writing). It helps with the search engines. I don't think this was part of the deception... if ever there was one.

WritersBeware:
They cater to primarily American consumers without acknowledging the ESL nature of the site and its writers.


Okay. They don't. Although, to the trained eye, it is definitely ESL.

WritersBeware:
They promote themselves primarily in US search engines without acknowledging their location in the Philippines.


There's nothing wrong with promoting on US search engines. Also, anybody who searches for their site on Google will find out that they are from the Philippines. But yes... NOT ACKNOWLEDGING that they are from the Philippines does look somewhat deceptive.

WritersBeware:
Bullsh*t: "The writers at The Writing Assistant are all college educated and hold a PhD in their respective fields."


College educated in the Philippines? Probably. PhD (even in the Philippines)? Definitely not!

WritersBeware:
For the rates they charge, there is no way in hell they they employ American writers, let alone American writers with PhD degrees.


ABSOLUTELY!!!
WritersBeware Edited by: WritersBeware   Nov 24, 09, 02:52PM | #9
Joined: Apr 19, 07
Threads: 144
Posts: 8,389

AsianWriter:
Nah! Not really. I have a (dot)com site (not related to writing). It helps with the search engines. I don't think this was part of the deception... if ever there was one.

The key to my reasoning on all issues is that I put myself in the shoes of a prospective client who has absolutely no idea about the level of deception in the industry. Accordingly, I will now place myself in the shoes of a Filipino student in the Philippines who is seeking help with a Tagalog-language essay on "Filipino Culture." If an American were to purchase a .ph domain related to "Filipino essay writing" (despite an utter lack of qualified, Filipino writers) and market the site directly to Filipino consumers, while conveniently neglecting to mention that nothing about his/her site or his/her writers is native Filipino (native Tagalog-speaking), would he/she not be a fraud?

Location and culture are irrelevant if one is selling shoes or lightbulbs, but not if one is selling language- and culture-specific writing services.
AsianWriter   Nov 26, 09, 10:30PM | #10
Joined: Sep 28, 09
Posts: 202

WB, all I am saying is that (dot)coms and (dot)nets are "generic". All nationalities use them. The (dot)ph is specific to the Philippines; just like the (dot)uk is specific to the UK. I'm not sure if there is a (dot)us domain.

In your example, I agree that if someone in the US used a (dot)ph domain to sell Filipino essays, it could be interpreted as fraud. However, since (dot)coms are generic and not exclusively a US domain, then it is still difficult for me to understand how this contributes to the fraud.

Other than that, however, I do see your point about the site being somewhat "deceptive".

Previous thread Next thread
Essay Scams - what to do and how to avoid them? This is for buyessay.org's company and/or affiliates...

Forum / Essay Writing Services / Unanswered [this forum] | Latest

Random: 2 separate questions

Disclaimer: All messages posted on this site are provided "AS IS" with no expressed or implied warranties or guarantees and are the sole opinion and responsibility of the poster. They have NOT been verified for accuracy or truthfulness and they should be treated for entertainment or reading pleasure purposes only. Because the majority of the posters may have commercial reasons for participating in the forum, the EssayScam forum's posts should NOT be taken as advice or actual fact and they should NOT suggest any course of action. All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. You must read and accept the full Disclaimer and Terms of Use before you use the site.

[DND*] Notice: The owners of the following websites requested not to discuss their business operations and practices here.


EssayScam Home | Forum Home | Search | Random Thread

Disclaimer and Privacy Policy | DND List | Contact Us | EssayScam RSS


Copyright (C) 2005-2012 EssayScam.org / Partners: Essay News / Essay Chat / Essay Directory