2000+ of essay services at EssayDirectory.com! Welcome, Guest 38.107.179.236
Essay Scam ForumEssayScam.org
Username:  Password Sign up to post!

Please log in or sign up to post.
Forum / Essay Writing Services /  

Can I cancel an order within 24 hours?


secondhandshoes   May 16, 11, 04:51PM | #1
Joined: May 16, 11
Threads: 1
Posts: 4

Hi,

I placed an order with ozessays (Private Writing, supposedly US-based) less than 24 hours ago, but I'm overcome with first-timer guilt. I've emailed the company and messaged my writer requesting a cancellation, but I haven't had responses from either. The writer also didn't respond to my earlier message about the assignment details.

Is it terribly gullible of me to expect a refund? (It's only $45 so I won't be brokenhearted if I don't receive it back). I should state that I'm not questioning them or the writer, I really just don't want to have someone write my work or...um, provide my guidelines.

NB I've checked the Paypal status and the payment was completed, so I am ineligible to cancel it that way.

TIA
pheelyks Writer   May 16, 11, 04:55PM | #2
Joined: Jan 20, 09
Threads: 8
Posts: 3,837

Not sure what your real story is, but ozessays doesn't claim to be US-based, they're Australian. No idea if they're legit or not, but if you placed an order you really don't have a right to cancel it.
secondhandshoes   May 16, 11, 05:03PM | #3
Joined: May 16, 11
Threads: 1
Posts: 4

No, they're definitely not Australian; they're the Aus version of Private Writing, which claims to be American. Judging by the spelling and grammar (that I didn't pick up the first time I viewed the site - read: in a essay-induced stupor) they're not based in ANY English-speaking country...
pheelyks Writer   May 16, 11, 05:08PM | #4
Joined: Jan 20, 09
Threads: 8
Posts: 3,837

ozessays.com does not claim to be from the US, nor does ozessay.com. Considering "Oz" is used to refer to Australia, this makes sense.

What website are you talking about, specifically?
secondhandshoes Edited by: secondhandshoes   May 16, 11, 05:18PM | #5
Joined: May 16, 11
Threads: 1
Posts: 4

Sorry about the confusion. The exact site is ozessays.com.au
They claim to be Australian. They are not Australian, it is merely a facade. The payment went to Private Writing (privatewriting.com[DND*]). PW claimes to be US-based. *snort*

I just can't hand in something I didn't write and want a cancellation.

I appreciate your help though.

I've considered requesting a partial refund, but I highly doubt any work has been done on the assignment yet (specialised area and unusual coursework. It's not just an average essay). I've maintained a polite tone in the email to the company, but as they're not responding I'm thinking...scam alert.
pheelyks Writer   May 16, 11, 05:22PM | #6
Joined: Jan 20, 09
Threads: 8
Posts: 3,837

secondhandshoes:
The exact site is ozessays.

No, the exact site is ****.ozessays.****. Filling in the asterisks gives us the exact website.
secondhandshoes:
They claim to be Australian.

Glad we got that cleared up.

As for the real issue, you should be able to receive a refund if they don't deliver on time, deliver a plagirized product, or in some other way fundamentally fail to provide the product you paid for. Otherwise, you contracted for a service and you can't cancel it just because you think better of it later. That's part of the caveat emptor concept.
secondhandshoes Edited by: secondhandshoes   May 16, 11, 05:28PM | #7
Joined: May 16, 11
Threads: 1
Posts: 4

pheelyks:
That's part of the caveat emptor concept.


Of course it is. How silly of me. Thanks for clearing that up pheelyks :-)


And one final question:

As I've messaged the writer with my little "I'd like to cancel the order" spiel, what does this mean for the writer? Will they even bother to respond to this? Will they move on to their next job and let the company take my payment?

I respect the [legit] writers, but...ugh. This whole thing is not for me.
MeoKhan Writer Edited by: MeoKhan   May 17, 11, 02:02AM | #8
Joined: Jan 9, 11
Threads: 4
Posts: 1,119

secondhandshoes:
They are not Australian, it is merely a facade


The company is owned by Alishan Travel Agency, and their employees are in India, Bangladesh, and the like. The registrant of the OZ site is from Asia Pacific/South East Asia.

The word ALISHAN is from Hindi language!

http://whois.domaintools.com/ozessays.com.au

Also check the AusRegistry:

http://whois.ausregistry.com.au/whois/whois_local.jsp;jsessionid=B1514900E7 4ECC768340CA38C998C672?tab=0&t=1305622405658
MeoKhan Writer   May 17, 11, 06:49AM | #9
Joined: Jan 9, 11
Threads: 4
Posts: 1,119

There are 2 websites with the same SLDs and TLDs. The different is the "S" in the SLD - i.e. (1) ozessayS.com.au, (2) ozessay.com.au.

http://whois.domaintools.com/ozessay.com.au
mayur_digitized   May 17, 11, 08:23AM | #10
Joined: Nov 17, 10
Posts: 80

MeoKhan:
ALISHAN

Alishan is from Urdu language and not Hindi.

Similar topics to: Can I cancel an order within 24 hours?
I ordered a dissertation, but want to cancel it - help needed
24 hours to receive an essay... is it possible?
Slightly worried about deadline for Essaytown in a few hours
Was very nervous when I placed my order with essaysreasy.com
Thesis order (PhD-Dissertations)

Previous thread Next thread
http://custom-essay.org/- DO NOT USE THIS SITE-THIS IS A SCAM! Have you herd of www.essaysprofessors.com[DND*]

Forum / Essay Writing Services / Unanswered [this forum] | Latest

Random: Writers-Write.co.uk is scam!!!

Disclaimer: All messages posted on this site are provided "AS IS" with no expressed or implied warranties or guarantees and are the sole opinion and responsibility of the poster. They have NOT been verified for accuracy or truthfulness and they should be treated for entertainment or reading pleasure purposes only. Because the majority of the posters may have commercial reasons for participating in the forum, the EssayScam forum's posts should NOT be taken as advice or actual fact and they should NOT suggest any course of action. All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. You must read and accept the full Disclaimer and Terms of Use before you use the site.

[DND*] Notice: Due to negative and/or defamatory comments posted by some forum participants, the owners of the following websites requested not to discuss their business operations and practices here. Violators may be subject to legal threats and/or legal action taken by these websites.


EssayScam Home | Forum Home | Search | Random Thread

Disclaimer and Privacy Policy | DND List | Contact Us | EssayScam RSS


Copyright (C) 2005-2012 EssayScam.org / Partners: Essay News / Essay Chat / Essay Directory